Canadian Forest Service Publications

The Canadian system of wetland classification and its application to circumboreal wetlands. 1985. Wells, E.D.; Zoltai, S.C. Aquilo Ser Botanica 21: 45-52.

Year: 1985

Available from: Northern Forestry Centre

Catalog ID: 11377

Language: English

CFS Availability: PDF (request by e-mail)


The Canadian Wetland Classification System consists of four levels: 1) wetland classes (e.g. bog, fen, marsh, swamp); 2) wetland forms (e.g. domed bogs, slope fen, stream marsh); 3) vegetation (plant communities, associations); and, 4) specialized needs of particular disciplines. Its development and structure, its application to the classification of peatlands in eastern Newfoundland and its relationship with wetland classification systems in northern Europe are discussed.

Date modified: